Newly Elected junior Town Council Takes Office

The 2016/2017 Overstand Junior Town Council has been inaugurated, with Yanna Stergianos from Hermanus High as the Junior Mayor and Izaan Newman from Gansbaai Academia as well as Monique Barkley from Northcliff House as her deputies.
The inauguration of 35 junior council members, drawn from a pool of grade 10-12 learners of the area’s six high schools, took place at the Municipal Auditorium in Hermanus on 3 November.

The Overstrand Junior Town Council initiative is managed by the Enlighten Education Trust in partnership with the Overstrand Municipality.  During their 12-month term of office, junior council members are exposed to the work of local government, community development aimed at benefiting their respective communities, the delivery of projects and public appearance.

In her acceptance speech, the newly elected Junior Mayor, Yanna Stergianos, said the most precious of all commodities is time, and what you do all of the time matters more than what you do some of the time.  “There are 365 days in a year. Every day has 24 hours. Every hour has sixty minutes – so let’s make the most of our 365 days we serve on this Junior Town Council;  let’s make it count.”

Addressing the junior councillors, Deputy Mayor, Ald Dudley Coetzee, pointed out that the theme for the evening was based on being ‘Anchored in Leadership’ and started his address with a quote by Gordon B Hickley, who said: “People are looking for stability in a shaky world.  They want something they can get hold of that’s firm and sure and an anchor in the midst of all this instability in which they’re living.”

He went on to say that as a parent, he knows the importance of stability and structure in the life of a child.  It forms the foundation for their development and interaction with the world. It also determines how they think of themselves and develops their vision for the future.

“The Overstrand Junior Town Council is a structure that acts as a foundation in the process of cultivating future leaders.

This programme aims to provide these young people with an opportunity to broaden their leadership skills as well as their outlook and understanding of the world around them.

Being part of the Junior Town Council will equip these young leaders with a sense of responsibility and purpose whilst providing them with a public platform to inspire and motivate other young people in their communities.
It is important to stress that future leaders are developed, not born. We have to create opportunities where young people can have their voices heard and give them time to acquire clear and constructive opinions.

Enlighten Trust has done great work in managing such opportunities through the Junior Town Council programme and has reached many children from diverse backgrounds.

I want to use this opportunity to thank the management of Enlighten Trust for their contribution and work with our young people in the Overstrand.I also want to thank the outgoing members of the Junior Town Council, their parents and especially the school mentors and principals for the efforts and contributions made to ensure the success of the programme.

Finally, I want to congratulate the newly elected members of the Junior Town Council.

Now that you are taking office, I want to implore you to be steadfast in your duties, loyal to your communities and responsible in the way you portray your image as ambassadors.

I close with the words from Spiderman: “With great power comes great responsibility” adding “with great trust comes great responsibility”.

Back row: Kaci van Romburgh, Gabriel Stratford, Panashe Mapfumo, Janeke Viljoen, Lismari Strauss, Zoe van Rensburg, Donne van Schoor, Madicyn Venter, Kirsten Larney, Milia Botha, Leighton Appolis, Curtley Gillion, Abigail de Koker, Delmain Januarie, Aiden Farao, Shariefa Abrahams, Lupho Hoyi, Thimna Mkolo, Nikilitha Moyakhe, Andisiwe Lusawana, Sinoxolo Maguduza, Dehann du Plessis, Khanyiswa Pungupungu.
Front row: Sarah Johnson, Matthew Smith, Damian Niemand, Katelin May, Monique Barkley (Deputy Junior Mayor), Yanna Stergianos (Junior Mayor), Alderman Dudley Coetzee, Izaan Newman (Deputy Junior Mayor), Unity Mtomile, Fortune Mbeu, Ayabonga Qogi, Cynthia Kariuki, Jordan Linehan.



Contact Us

Hermanus 028 313 8000
Kleinmond 028 271 8400
Gansbaai 028 384 8300
Stanford 028 341 8500