Mayor Re-Shuffles Executive Mayoral Committee

At the Council meeting held on the, 23 September 2014, the Executive Mayor Nicolette Botha-Guthrie shocked everyone when she announced resignations of two members of the Executive Mayoral Committee, Alderman Pieter Scholtz and Cllr Ben Solomon.

Mayor announced that Cllr Ben Solomon resigned as Ward Councillor of Ward 7 on 17 September 2014.  She reported that former Councillor Solomon served as Councillor since 2006 and was the Chairman of the Portfolio Committee of Finance and Local Economic Development for several years.

Mayor thanked Ben in his absence for the dedicated way in which he represented his ward and for his contribution as far as the finances of the Municipality was concerned and wished him and his wife a pleasant retirement.

Following that the Mayor announced that the Deputy Executive Mayor, Alderman Pieter Scholtz, had also tendered his resignation as Councillor for Ward 2 with the Municipal Manager on 22 September 2014 and will vacate his seat on 30 September 2014.

Mayor described Alderman Scholtz as an involved and dedicated member of the Overstrand Municipality since its establishment in 2000, who had served with distinction inter alia as Ward Councillor, as Chairperson of the Portfolio Committees for Finance and Local Economic Development and Infrastructure and Planning and also as Deputy Executive Mayor.

She further thanked him in her personal capacity for his loyal support and friendship and for executing Mayoral functions in her absence from time to time.

“It is my sincere wish Deputy Executive Mayor that you and your wife, Ans, and your families will enjoy your retirement and that both of you will experience good health in order to do what you always wanted to do – one of which of course is to enjoy our beautiful country and that which nature has to offer.

“Alderman Scholtz, you may officially be 'retiring', but you will never be retired from our hearts.  Enjoy your retirement”, the Mayor said.

She then announced a re-shuffle in the Executive Mayoral Committee as follows:

Cllr R Smith : Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee : Infrastructure and Planning w.e.f. 1 October 2014.   New Deputy Mayor w.e.f. 1 October 2014.

Cllr M Opperman : Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee : Community Services w.e.f. 1 October 2014

Cllr P Appelgrein : Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee : Management Serivces and Protection Services w.e.f. 1 October 2014

Cllr D Coetzee : Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee : Finance and Local Economic Development w.e.f. today, 23 September 2014.


Contact Us

Hermanus 028 313 8000
Kleinmond 028 271 8400
Gansbaai 028 384 8300
Stanford 028 341 8500