Thursday, 1 September 2016:  Even the heavy clouds and slight drizzle did little to dampen the spirits of attendees at the recent official opening of the Haygrove Primary Health Clinic that took place at the Haygrove Heaven Farm on Thursday, 1 September 2016.

The first of its kind facility was established through the partnership efforts of Haygrove Farm, Waitrose Foundation and Cipla; and is designed to cater to the health needs of farmworkers of the Haygrove Heaven Farm in the Hemel-en-Aarde Valley. 

Since opening its doors on 1 August this year, 200 Haygrove Heaven Farm workers have undergone medical screening and, where necessary, medical care has been afforded to them.

Read more ...

Overstrand's DA councillor, Andrew Komani took over the position of chairperson of the Community Services portfolio in the mayoral committee at a special council meeting held on 31 August.

Cllr Archie Klaas was appointed deputy mayor of the Overberg District Municipality (ODM) and will therefore no longer serve on the mayoral committee.  Overstrand Municipality has two representatives on the ODM Mayoral Committee, Cllr Archie Klaas and Cllr Moira Opperman.

Ald Dudley Coetzee  remains the Chairperson of Finance. Cllr Riana de Coning will now be the chairperson for Management Services as well as Protection Services. Cllr David Botha will chair Infrastructure and Planning and Cllr Elnora Gillion will be the chairperson for Economic Development and Tourism.

Read more ...

During September 2016 a socio economic survey will be conducted in the Overstrand Municipality. The aim is to determine the demand for affordable housing in the Overstrand. Interviews will be conducted with randomly selected households in specific housing settlements regarding their housing needs as well as related matters.

In addition, group discussions will be conducted in selected settlements from Buffelsjag River to Betty’s Bay.

The research focus is on the spectrum of households that qualify for government subsidized housing. Households whose income exceed the maximum limit allowed for government housing, but whose income is too low to qualify for financial assistance from commercial banks, the so-called gap market, will also be included in the research.

Read more ...

On Monday, 22 August 2016 Overstrand Executive Mayor Rudolph Smith took pleasure in announcing the recently appointed Mayoral Committee which will serve under his stewardship for the term 2016 to 2021.

The Mayoral Committee for the period will comprise:

Executive Mayor - Ald Rudolph Smith
Executive Deputy Mayor & Finance Portfolio - Ald Dudley Coetzee
Speaker - Ald Anton Coetsee
Management Services Portfolio - Cllr Riana de Coning
Protection Services Portfolio - Cllr Archie Klaas
Community Services Portfolio - Cllr David Botha
Infrastructure & Planning as well as Economic Development & Tourism - Cllr Elnora Gillion

The first official Mayoral Committee meeting will take place on Wednesday, 31 August 2016, followed shortly thereafter by the first Council meeting on the same day.

Read more ...

13 and 27 August | 10 September | 1st, 15 and 29 October

Overstrand Traffic: 08:30 - 12:00
Hermanus Library: 08:30 - 11:30

In the interest of rendering a better service to the public, the Traffic Department (housed on the corner of Short and Mussel Streets, Hermanus) as well as the Hermanus Library will in future be open to the public on every second Saturday.

Do please keep in mind, though, that the information displayed here is subject to change and that we cannot be held liable for any inconvenience caused or failure to comply with legislative requirements


Contact Us

Hermanus 028 313 8000
Kleinmond 028 271 8400
Gansbaai 028 384 8300
Stanford 028 341 8500